Honoraria and Travel Awards Committee

Committee Members: L. Dizney, A. Ford, V. Hayssen (Chair), S. Jansa, K. Lucia, J. Reichard, T. Roberts, R. Rowe, P. Stapp, K. Thorington.

Mission:

The Committee's mission is to select students to be honored for their research in Mammalogy and to select travel grant recipients in two categories, early career and student.

Information Items:

- (1) First the Committee would like to thank Jessica Light, Marjorie Matocq, Jennifer Smith, and Sacha Vignieri for their years of service. Marjorie served from 2004, Sacha from 2006, Jessica from 2008, and Jennifer from 2009. Their contributions to the process and outcome of the Committee's work will be missed. We also welcomed Adam Ford to the Committee this year.
- (2) From 4 applications, the Honoraria and Travel Grant Committee awarded 3 graduate honoraria, each for \$2000: the Anna M. Jackson Award to Johanna Varner (University of Utah); the Elmer C. Birney Award to Jennifer Schieltz (Princeton University); and the A. Brazier Howell Graduate Student Travel Grant to John Doudna (Iowa State University). No Annie M. Alexander Graduate Student Travel Grant was awarded as no Masters students applied. The Committee requested that President Heske ask the Board for approval to use the Alexander award money for other awards under the Committee's jurisdiction. This request was approved. The award money was re-allocated to 1 additional early career travel grant (\$500) and 5 additional student travel grants (5*\$300 = \$1500). We will continue our efforts to advertise and promote the Honoraria program to increase the number of applications.
- (3) From 3 applications the Committee awarded 2 undergraduate honoraria of \$1000 each. Awardees were Kimberly Conway (California State University-Fullerton) and Andy Kulikowski II (University of Wyoming).
- (4) 2014 was the second year of the travel grant awards. The number of submissions was down from last year. The Committee received 94 abstracts down from 140 abstracts last year. Some were disqualified: 3 because they were already receiving other ASM awards and 1 early-career applicant who was beyond the 5-year limit. The remaining abstracts were divided into 2 categories for evaluation: early-career (11 abstracts vs 29 last year) and student (80 abstracts vs 109 last year). Twenty-two of the 91 applicants did not appear to be members of ASM at the time of application. President Heske emailed these individuals informing them of the necessity of membership for eligibility. The Committee only awarded travel grants to individuals who were ASM members and who were not already receiving travel funding from ASM.
- (5) The following 6 individuals received early-career travel grants each for \$500: Michael Buchalski, Sean Maher, Jason Malaney, Caleb Phillips, Maria Sagot, and Daniel Thornton. The following 26 individuals received student travel grants each for \$300: Adam Ahlers, Hsiang Ling Chen, Miranda Crowell, Juan Diaz-Nieto, Adam Ferguson, Emma Gomez-Ruiz, Rebecca Green,

Samuel Hirt, Anne-Marie Hodge, Michael Holmes, Angela Hornsby, Brett Jesmer, Rebecca Kirby, Han Li, Melissa Merrick, Nicholas Smith, Sherry Olson, Nelish Pradhan, Emma Roberts, Emma Shubin, Marlee Tucker, Kristy Tuttle, Nate Upham, Megan Wallen, Caitlin Wells, and Jennifer Wilkening.

(5) The Committee is requesting continuance of the monetary value of the honoraria awards in keeping with the prestige of the awards and the costs of attending the meetings.

Action Items:

	\$1 5000	Total budget
	\$3000	10 * \$300 for student travel grants
	\$2000	4 * \$500 for early-career travel grants
	\$2000	2 * \$1000 for undergraduate honoraria
(1)	\$8000	4 * \$2000 for graduate honoraria (Jackson, Howell, Birney, Alexander)

Justification: All funds requested are for the awards.

Respectfully submitted,

Virginia Hayssen (Vhayssen@smith.edu)